Arkana’s Inaugural Writing Contest

Currently closed for submissions

Arkana offered prizes in Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, and Poetry. Winners in each category received $400 and publication in the spring issue. Additionally, three runner-ups received $75 and potential publication.

Contest Winners and Runner-Ups:

“Poem for Thalia” by Elizabeth Oness (winner)
“I was left for dead” by Emily Marie Buehler (runner-up)

“Falling Season” by Judy Kessler (winner)
“The Winter Cabin” by Matt Caldwell (runner-up)

Creative Nonfiction
Pruritus” by J. D. Schraffenberger (winner)
“Encyclopedia of Memory” by Anne Canter (runner-up)

Guest Judges

emily danforth – Fiction

Scott Russell Sanders – Creative Nonfiction 

Oliver de la Paz – Poetry